​Disclaimer: While the advice and content in this website are believed to be true and accurate at the date of placement, neither the webmaster, authors, editors, Dept. Of Indiana, or the Marine Corps League can accept any legal responsibility for any errors or omissions that may have been made, or opinions expressed. Neither MCL-Dept. of Indiana nor the webmaster makes warranty, expressed or implied with respect to the material contained at this website. Neither the Marine Corps League norMCL-Dept. of Indiana recommends nor endorses any particular commercial establishment or product that may appear on this website. Editorial opinions posted on this website are the opinions of their author and not necessarily endorsed by the Marine Corps League or the MCL- Dept. of Indiana. And, finally, neither the United States Marine Corps nor any other component of the Dept. of Defense has approved, endorsed, authorized, or contributed to the content of this website. Incorporated by an act of Congress in 1937, the Marine Corps League perpetuates the traditions and spirit of ALL Marines who proudly wear or who have worn the eagle, globe and anchor of the Corps. Copyright (c) 2016 mcldeptofindiana.org. All rights reserved.Copyright © Marine Corps League-Department of Indiana. All rights reserved.

Past Department Commandants

The Marines’ Hymn
"From the Halls of Montezuma
To the Shores of Tripoli;
We fight our country’s battles
In the air, on land, and sea;
First to fight for right and freedom
And to keep our honor clean;
We are proud to claim the title
Of United States Marine.

Our flag’s unfurled to every breeze
From dawn to setting sun;
We have fought in every clime and place
Where we could take a gun;
In the snow of far-off Northern lands
And in sunny tropic scenes;
You will find us always on the job
The United States Marines.

Here’s health to you and to our Corps
Which we are proud to serve
In many a strife we’ve fought for life
And never lost our nerve;
If the Army and the Navy
Ever look on Heaven’s scenes;
They will find the streets are guarded
By United States Marines"

Year Served         Name                       Home Detachment

1941           Charles E. Lynch                   Indianapolis
1942           Frank J. Murray                    South Bend
1943           Albert Douglas                      Fort Wayne
1944           Ray Roller                              Fort Wayne
1944          William Brimlow                    Elkhart
1945           Ted Gray                               Fort Wayne
1946           John U. Johnson                South Bend
1947            Dale Dickson                      Terre Haute
1948            Wilford Weaver                  Hammond
1949            Clyde Oviatt                        Evansville
1950            Jack Comer                        Hammond
1951            James Phillipoff                South Bend
1952            John L. Clayton                 Hammond
1953            William Webster                South Bend
1954            Joe Wilson                         South Bend
1955            William Arney                     Fort Wayne
1956            Thomas L. Finch, Jr.         Mooresville
1957             Maurice Eggers                Indianapolis
1958             Jim Smith                          Indianapolis
1959              Ora M. Fultz                     Lafayette
1960              Maurice Eggers               Indianapolis
1961              Owen Shoaf                     Lafayette
1962              Otto Simhauser               South Bend
1963              Walter V. Trocha             Highland
1964              Cecil Carter                      Lafayette
1965              Howard Skinner               Hobart
1966              Richard R. Reynolds        Hammond
1967              Howard Skinner               Hobart
1968              Ora M. Fultz                      Lafayette
1969              Helen Fitzgerald               Griffith
1970              Marvin L. Foland               Swayzee
1971-1972    Fred W. Ehlen                    Gary
1973              Joseph C. Coblentz          Whitewater Valley
1974-1975    James Hartman                South Bend
1976               Charles Hutson                 Indianapolis
1977-1978     Robert J. Corbett             Whitewater Valley
1979               Donald F. Myers               Indianapolis
1980                Melville Jay                     Whitewater Valley
1981-1983      Robert Tenbarge             Fort Wayne
1984                Diana Dils                         Charles D Horn
1985                John Hudkins                   Plymouth
1986-1987      Lester Hartman               Fort Wayne
1988                Dan Switzer                      Indianapolis
1989-1992      Howard W. Suttmiller     Indianapolis
1993-1994      Harley Trueblood             Mounds
1995-1996      Robert A. Creedon           Crown Point
1997-1998      Cletus McGrath                Waterloo
1998-1999      Homer Teegarden           Jonesboro
2000                Joe Fleck                          So. IN Leathernecks
2001-2002      Pat Deal                           Joseph A. Bray
2003-2004      Thomas Swihart             Dunes Leathernecks
2005-2007      Bernie Loechel                H.I. Bearss
2007-2009      Michael Lieber                Dunes Leathernecks
2009-2011      Russell Eaglin                 H.I. Bearss
2011-2012      James Wade                  H.I. Bearss
2012-2013      Dave Englert                   So. IN Leathernecks
2013-2014      Ann Hunsinger               Whitewater Valley
2014-2015      James Wade                  H.I. Bearss
2015-2016      Ann Hunsinger               Whitewater Valley
2016-2017       Tom Duncan                   Tripoli